Abortion Access Before and After COVID-19 - Movie Premiere and Conversation

Tuesday April, 07 2020

11:00AM - 12:30PM

Video Conference, Virtual

11am PST / 12pm MT / 1pm CST / 2pm EST

Join the premiere of Grapefruit, a short film using a speculative fiction format to take a closer at the horror of crisis pregnancy centers. Hear directly from the director, cast and creator about using pop culture to influence advancements in reproductive justice. Leading reproductive justice advocates…

See more

Join the premiere of Grapefruit, a short film using a speculative fiction format to take a closer at the horror of crisis pregnancy centers. Hear directly from the director, cast and creator about using pop culture to influence advancements in reproductive justice. Leading reproductive justice advocates will answer questions about abortion access before and after COVID-19 and where we go from here. You'll also receive a toolkit with calls to action to protect your health and your rights.

This event is free and hosted via zoom. Please RSVP to receive the link to join.

See Less

Here's how we're taking action

Watch Our Short Film: Grapefruit

Using a speculative fiction format, Grapefruit takes a closer look at the horror of crisis pregnancy centers. Grapefruit is approximately 9 minutes in length. The film is fiction but the threat is real.

left
right

1 of 2

Host Your Own Virtual Screening

Grab your friends and watch Grapefruit together. Create a screening on SameSide and you'll receive a toolkit to protect reproductive rights in your community.

left
right

2 of 2

Raise Awareness About Crisis Pregnancy Centers Through Pop Culture

Black Women for Wellness Action Project in partnership with Courage California launched the You Deserve Better campaign to drive awareness and action about the deceptive practices of crisis pregnancy centers. Crisis Pregnancy Centers (CPCs) are fake health clinics funded and operated by anti-abortion religious organizations. They are designed to trick pregnant people considering abortion by posing as full-service women’s health clinics. CPCs are set up near legitimate full-service reproductive health clinics to intercept women with unintended pregnancies who might be considering abortion. We must use our platform to raise awareness and stop the deceptive practices so all women have fair access to their reproductive rights.

Meet your Host

host-img

Black Women for Wellness Action Project

Black Women for Wellness Action Project

Black Women for Wellness - is a non-profit committed to the empowerment, health and well-being of Black… See more

Black Women for Wellness - is a non-profit committed to the empowerment, health and well-being of Black women and girls. See Less

Learn more about this campaign

Black Women for Wellness Action Project

Stop Fake Women's Health Clinics

Black Women for Wellness…

Reproductive Rights
Stop Fake Women's Health Clinics

Free

Ages 18+